Friday, May 01, 2009

Olympic teams selected

The speculation can now come to an end. We can now be pretty sure who will be in the Olympic teams for Vancouver 2010. The release is on the British Curling website here.

The women are Karen Addison, Jackie Lockhart, Eve Muirhead, Lorna Vevers, and Kelly Wood. The order of play is still to be announced - May 7 is the date for that. I wonder why the delay? (Added later. I believe that Nancy Murdoch, the team coach, wants to meet all the team members face to face in the coming days to talk through the lineup decision. That makes a lot of sense, given that the decision to announce the five players at this time is 'to give those athletes selected sufficient time and opportunity to train and compete together as a team in advance of the selection deadline for the 2010 Winter Olympic Games'.)

Lynn Cameron, who played lead in 2006, loses out in the selection this time.

The men, not surprisingly, are the five who brought back the World title from Moncton recently - David Murdoch, Ewan MacDonald, Peter Smith, Euan Byers and Graeme Connal. Neither Warwick Smith nor Craig Wilson has been called up.

These selections, strictly speaking, are not necessarily the actual teams which will compete in Vancouver. It is the British Olympic Association which will ratify British Curling's proposals and announce the team in December. The Olympic dates are February 12-28, with the curling on from Feb 16-27.

All six wheelchair curlers (Tom Killin, Rosemary Lenton, Angie Malone, Michael McCreadie, Aileen Neilson and Jim Sellar) are still in consideration for the Paralympic team.

Let's salute those who lost out this time, and have NOT been selected.

Lynn Cameron

Warwick Smith

Craig Wilson

Photos by Bob. Other squad members can be seen in a post one year ago here.

No comments:

Post a Comment